Log in

Announcing 2021 IANE Awards Winners

11 Aug 2021 11:35 PM | Kai Sento Kargbo


Special thank you to the Organising Committee of the 7th International Summit on Nutrition and Health. Huge thank you to our Summit Co-Leads Marjorie Lima do Vale and Prof Sumantra Ray, strategic partners and sponsors, distinguished guests, speakers, and attendees. This event would not have been possible without all of you. 


At this year’s International Summit on Nutrition and Health, organised by the NNEdPro Global Centre (NNEdPro) and International Academy of Nutrition Educators (IANE) in partnership with BMJ Nutrition, Prevention & Health, selected IANE members were honoured in recognition of their dedication and outstanding contributions to nutrition research, advocacy and education of health professionals, as well as sustained participation in the Academy. Our heartiest congratulations to the 2021 IANE Awards recipients and we look forward to your continued participation as members of the Academy.


Associate Member of the Year Award

Pedro Alves de Castro

Pedro Alves de Castro is a third-year medical student at the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG) in Brazil and serves as an associate academic member of the Brazilian Society of Nephrology (BSN). At NNEdPro, he co-leads the Brazil Regional Network and is a member of the COVID-19 Taskforce. He is currently part of research team investigating the impact of an interdisciplinary approach (nutrition, physical activity, psychological and psychiatry evaluation) on the quality of life of patients with hepatitis B/C at the Department of Internal Medicine at UFMG.


Professional Member of the Year Award

Dr Ahlam El Shikieri

Dr Ahlam El Shikieri is a registered Consultant Nutritionist, certified Public Health Nutritionist (cPHN), and Associate Professor in the Department of Clinical Nutrition at Taibah University in Saudi Arabia. Dr El Shikieri is the International Project Chair of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and recipient of the Outstanding Dietitian of the Year Award (2020) by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.


Faculty Member of the Year Awards

Shane McAuliffe, RD

Shane McAuliffe holds a BSc in Nutritional Sciences and MSc in Nutrition and Dietetics. He is a Registered Associate Nutritionist (ANutr) with the Association for Nutrition and Registered Dietitian currently holding a Band 5 position with the National Health Service (NHS). At NNEdPro, Shane McAuliffe is the Science & Digital Communications Lead and hosts our monthly ‘Virtual Journal Club,’ which provides a platform for discussion and critical appraisal of topical research for NNEdPro and IANE members.

Prof Martin Kohlmeier

Prof Martin Kohlmeier is a Professor of Nutrition at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Chapel Hill, President of the International Symposium of Neural Networks and Editor in Chief of BMJ Nutrition Prevention and Health (BMJ NPH). This year, Prof Kohlmeier became an Inaugural IANE Fellow as well as an esteemed Fellow of the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) in recognition of his distinguished career and contributions to the field of nutrition. His research interests include precision nutrition, nutrient metabolism, and nutrigenomics.

Outstanding Achievement Awards (w/ Honorary Fellowship)  

Caroline Bovey, BEM, RD

Caroline Bovey is Chair of the British Dietetic Association (BDA) and a Public Health Dietitian with Aneurin Bevan University Health Board in South Wales. She has over 10 years of experience working as a Dietitian and her team forms part of the All Wales Nutrition Skills for Life programme. Throughout her career, Caroline Bovey has acted as a local Trade Union Representative and more recently, as chair of the Wales Employment Relations Committee and a member of the Trade Union Board.

Dr Margaret Ashwell, OBE, DSc, FAfN, RNutr (Public Health)

Dr Margaret Ashwell, OBE is the President of the Association for Nutrition (AfN), Founder and Chair of Self Employed Nutritionist’s Support and Enlightenment (SENSE), and Honorary Senior Visiting Fellow  at City’s Business School, University of London. Dr Ashwell is a key advocate for advancing standards of evidence-based practice across the field of nutrition.

Paper of the Year

Unwin D,  Khalid AA,  Unwin J, et al. (2021). Insights from a general practice service evaluation supporting a lower carbohydrate diet in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus and prediabetes: a secondary analysis of routine clinic data including HbA1c, weight and prescribing over 6 years. BMJ Nutrition, Prevention &Health 2020;3:doi: 10.1136/bmjnph-2020-000072

IANE Steering Committee Members on

The 2021 Roll of Honour

Melissa AdamskiSteering Committee Chair

Sento Kai KargboNewsletter Coordinator

Sucheta MitraMembership Officer

Breanna LepreMember Engagement Coordinator

James BradfieldAdvisor (Faculty and Mentors Panel)

Matheus AbrantesAdvisor (NNEdPro)

Rachel DaegerAdvisor (Society for Nutrition Education and Behaviour)


Prepared by

Sento Kai Kargbo

NNEdPro Research Assistant and Communications Officer

IANE Steering Committee Member








St. John's Innovation Centre

Cowley Road,

Cambridge CB4 0WS, UK


An initiative of the NNEdPro Global Institute

© 2024 by NNEdPro Global Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health.